Skip to content

Mrs. Young?

March 10, 2011
tags: , ,

Mitch and I have been married for about a year and a half now.  So, for a year and a half my signature has included my husband’s name.  At our wedding, the pastor announced us as the new Mr. and Mrs. Young.  My driver’s license is different and my email has changed.  For months before we were married, I couldn’t wait to become Mrs. Young and I absolutely love my new monogram.

But, most of the people I know call me by my first name.  And even the children I know call me Leigh with a cute little “Miss” attached to the front.

A couple weekends ago, Mitch and I hosted five college kids from my sister’s school who needed a place to stay before heading to the airport early in the morning to go on a Habitat for Humanity trip.  As always, we were excited to host together and were excited to meet some of my little sister’s friends from school.  Erin left for the trip the day before and simply gave them my phone number to get in touch with us.  A few hours before they were supposed to come, my phone rang.

“Hello?”  I said as I unsuspectingly picked up my phone.

“Hi!  Mrs. Young?”  a sweet girl said on the other line.

Mrs. Young?  Oh, yes–that’s me!  It took a second to sink in.  Wait a second, surely my sister told her that Mitch and I mere years ago were in college too. Does my sister think of me as a Mrs.?  Did she tell her to call me this to play with my mind?  Nope.  Just a sweet, innocent college girl showing respect to her friend’s sister and her husband.  I guess I am a “Mrs.” after all!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom (RHM) permalink
    March 10, 2011 3:26 am

    Ahh…, “Young love”

  2. March 10, 2011 5:16 am

    Love it! Jeff and I have been married for 8 1/2 years, and I still don’t answer right away when someone calls me “Mrs. Lopez”.

  3. March 10, 2011 3:46 pm

    Nice shirt leigh! Mine is so faded—I kinda want to get a new one because I love advertising that I am MRS WEBER!

Leave a Reply

