Skip to content

First Dates and Empty Plates

February 18, 2011

On Valentine’s Day four years ago, Mitch and I went on our very first official date.  He brought me flowers and asked if he could take me out to dinner at a nice restaurant.  Very romantic.  The hostess sat us down at our table for two and brought us each a menu.  We both ordered chicken parmesan and were shocked when our waitress brought us each out a bowl of pasta and chicken that looked like a serving dish.  They were huge!  Mitch was in his peak swim season so the calorie overload was no big deal and he finished his whole meal.  After eating until I was full it looked like I had barely touched my plate!  I could see Mitch eyeing up the yummy pasta on my plate so I offered him the rest of mine.  However, the table was teeny, so we needed to actually switch plates so he could eat up the rest.  Just as he began to enjoy his second round, our waitress came back to ask if we needed anything.  It was then that she saw the completely empty plate in front of me and the very full plate in front of Mitch. “Uh…did you enjoy that, honey?”  she asked me with a confused look on her face. I just smiled and said, “It was great!”

Leave a Reply

