Skip to content

Christmas…finally!

January 25, 2011

Now that Christmas was almost a month ago, I thought it might be appropriate to do a little updating…oops!  But better late than never, right?  Mitch and I had a wonderful Christmas filled with so many great things.  We spent Christmas Eve working at church (I completely lost my voice–like whispering was louder than I could talk–which made my job quite interesting!) and then spent a fun evening at home opening presents with my family (my brother and his fiancee were visiting from Singapore which made it extra fun!).  We then woke up very early the next morning to catch our plane to Colorado.  We had such a great time visiting with Mitch’s family–from Christmas day with his extended family and grandparents to spending time at his parents’ cozy mountain cabin–we had a blast!  We were so blessed by the generosity of both of our families and were so glad we got to spend some time with both!

The night before Christmas Eve, Mitch and I exchanged gifts by using our new stocking tradition…which I loved even more than I thought I would!  We each carefully chose gifts for one another and had the best time thinking of ways to cleverly hide them (or not) in each other’s stockings.  I filled Mitch’s stocking with a bunch of his favorite candy, a small game (Bananagrams–which comes highly recommended from both of us!) and a couple pieces of paper.  On each piece of paper was a rhyming note that would lead him to where his other presents were hidden.  Mitch had my stocking full of yummy chocolate truffles and that seemed like that was it…until I discovered the small box he stuffed deeply into the toe.  At first sight I thought the wrapped box would contain a clue so I hurried to open it.  Instead of a clue I found a beautiful necklace he had chosen for me–of course…his plan all along to fool me!

Recognize these from somewhere else?

One of Mitch’s clues led him to behind the Elway jersey in his closet where he found a new shirt!

We had so much fun implementing our stocking tradition for the first time and decided that it is definitely a keeper!  Doing everything for a second time this year has been so much fun…I feel so blessed to be married to such a wonderful man…and it just keeps getting better!

“For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.  Of the greatness of his government and peace there will be no end.” Isaiah 9:6,7

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

