Skip to content

…the stockings we hung by the (bookcase) with care…

December 17, 2010

One of my favorite things about being (somewhat) newly married is the chance to create our own new family traditions.  This year, we have a couple new ones that we are instilling into our Young family.  My personal favorite is sending out a photo Christmas card (we wanted so badly to do this last year but decided in January it was too late…ha!)  We had so much fun brainstorming and taking the picture this year…I promise to post our card on here as soon as we get them back (ok, so maybe I’m still a little late in the game!).  Another we have thought of is our own invented stocking tradition.  Mitch and I have decided (and I love this!) that every year our gifts to each other must fit in our stockings.  Last year, Mitch and I were given these cute matching stockings as a gift.

Now, you might be thinking to yourself that this particular idea seems limiting and maybe isn’t the best idea if we wanted to get each other multiple gifts.  But, there is a little catch.  If one of us buys a gift for the other that would not physically fit into the stocking, we have to think of a creative way to make it fit.  For example, if I bought Mitch a new coat, I might put gloves and a hat in his stocking (along with all the other fun little things that go in stockings) with a little note (if it’s me, probably rhyming) that said where to find the rest of the set.  I can’t wait to see what we do with this over the years!  I’ll have to let you all know how it goes the first time around!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    December 17, 2010 11:39 pm

    Very cute!! I heard your lovely mother got you those stockings last year….true????

  2. December 18, 2010 10:03 pm

    I love this tradition! Such a fun idea! I can’t wait to hear about how it goes!

  3. January 6, 2011 4:53 am

    This is so cute!! We might steal this idea for next year. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. …and we’re back! « to have and to hold
  2. Christmas…finally! « to have and to hold

Leave a Reply

