Skip to content

I love you…a bushel and a 1/4 peck

September 25, 2010

There is not much I don’t love about fall.  It is quite possibly my favorite season and I look forward to it with great anticipation the minute Starbucks (slightly prematurely) brings out its pumpkin spice latte.  I love the leaves crunching under my feet, the pumpkins and gourds that make their way into our house, the need to start wearing sweaters and being able to order a pumpkin version of things you wouldn’t even think could be made into such a variety.  Mitch and I were so excited to seize the opportunity to do something fall-ish that even though it was 80 degrees yesterday, we made our way the local farmer’s market to get some honey crisp apples (YUM!).  Being farm-market-apple-buying amateurs, we were quite surprised when we realized we might have to buy a peck or greater to enjoy these sweet fall treats.  “Wow!” was all that Mitch could say…”do you think we could even eat that many apples in a couple weeks?”  While we might have been dramatizing this just a little bit…we were pleasantly surprised to stumble upon the 1/4 peck.

A two-person sized amount at a two-person price.  Mitch seemed so excited that we would not be up to our elbows in apples.  We picked up our 5-apple package and walked happily to the register.  As we were strolling to the front of the store Mitch started to hum a familiar song…”I love you, a bushel and a peck”…except once he started singing he changed the words a bit…”I love you, a bushel and a 1/4 peck, a bushel and a 1/4 peck…”  He explained that this was way more appropriate because our 1/4 peck purchase was way cuter than a full peck which of course made the song more appropriate to sing to me.  Ha. I love him.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2010 12:37 am

    Seriously Leigh—this is the most depressing post you have written so far. It makes me want to pack up my stuff right now and move back up north. It makes me so jealous that you guys are having fall up there. UGH.

  2. Kate permalink
    September 26, 2010 3:39 am

    Probably THE sappiest of all your sweet, sweet posts!!!!! LOL!!!!

  3. Kristen DeMarco permalink
    October 14, 2010 7:01 pm

    This is a cute story! You’re a great writer! Is there anything you can’t do missy?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

