Skip to content

Marveling

August 27, 2010

I read this excerpt in a book a couple of years ago and as I picked up the same book (inspired by Katie’s raving about it as we were reading buddies in Canada) now in a different stage in my life, I am still amazed…

“Did you know that a caterpillar has 228 separate and distinct muscles in its head?  That’s quite a few, for a bug.  The average elm tree has 6 million leaves on it.  And your heart generates enough pressure as it pumps blood throughout your body that it could squirt blood up to 30 feet.” (from Crazy Love by Francis Chan)

Sometimes I think I neglect to stop and marvel at the work of God’s hands.  I get so caught up in my busy schedule that I don’t allow myself to be romanced by what the Lord created to be beautiful and wonderful and complex.

“The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands.  Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they display knowledge.  There is no speech or language where their voice is not heard.  Their voice goes out into all the earth, their words to the end of the world.”  Psalm 19:1-4

Isn’t it just amazing that God designed a caterpillar the way he did?

We were marveling at God’s creation while surrounded by it in Canada and I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it.  It’s amazing though that we by no means need to be camping in the wilderness to notice.  It’s awesome to think that each and everything thing was designed and formed by His own hand…so that we might enjoy it and see Him in it.  I pray that we all take the time to, as Francis Chan so thoughtfully put it…just marvel at what He has done.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

