Skip to content

The Proposal

August 5, 2010

With our one year anniversary and surprise weekend getaway just days away (eeek! I am beyond excited!), I thought it might be appropriate to let you in on how it all started!  I am convinced, like the Pioneer Woman, I will chronicle our whole love story one day, but thought this would be a good start.  Baby steps, right?

Mitch and I had been dating for a couple of years (we met in college) when he decided to go back home to Colorado for the summer while I stayed in Pittsburgh for a couple of internships. Unbeknown to me, he was spending this summer before our senior year working very, very hard to save up for my engagement ring!  So many sun tans and late night phone calls later, I flew out to Colorado to visit my sweet boyfriend.  We had talked about getting married and what we thought our future together might look like, but I was convinced nothing at all would happen until at least Christmas…he sure had me fooled!

We were having a great time at a Rockies game with his family, when Mitch checked the weather on his Blackberry for the rest of my visit and looked very concerned.  Later that night I saw him with his dad hunching over a computer talking about the next few days and the weather.  Mitch told me that we had to reschedule our trip to see the sunrise over the mountains because the day we had planned on there was supposed to be a huge snow storm.  He told me we were going to go the next morning, so we had to get to bed!

I woke up early the next morning, put on sweatpants and a hoodie and threw my hair up into a messy ponytail.  We jumped in the car and chatted the whole way up to the mountain pass.  When we finally pulled off, we parked and walked out to a beautiful overlook.  We read a psalm together when Mitch suggested we read one more thing.  He flipped to a passage we had studied together the summer before about love.  He began to talk about the future and how he couldn’t see his life without me in it.  He told me that he had brought me to where we were because there was nothing and no one else around us–it was just us and the Lord.  He explained that he had done this purposefully because this was something between the three of us.

Oh my goodness!! This was it!  I couldn’t believe it.  He was proposing!  I was so excited, my mind was racing and I didn’t hear the rest of what he said.

He then asked me if I wanted to get a picture before we left.  A picture? A picture?!  No ring?  No knee?  No YES?  Had I been less in a daze, I would have noticed this clever move.  As I sadly set my camera timer up on a rock by us, my sly and romantic boyfriend got down on one knee.  I turned around and gasped.  He smiled up at me, and with quivering hands, opened a blue velvet box to reveal a beautiful ring (I actually didn’t know how beautiful it was until I saw it for the first time after throwing my arms around his neck).  He asked me if I would marry him and through happy tears I said, “Are you serious?” (Mitch still jokes that I never actually accepted his proposal).  He slipped a beautiful ring on my finger and that was it.  The beginning of our life as us.

I found out later that Mitch’s plans got cut quite short because of the snow storm and he didn’t get to do all that he had hoped to do.  I thought it worked out just perfectly!

Photo credit

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

