Skip to content

The Puppy Bug

August 3, 2010
tags: ,

Now, typically a newly married girl my age starts to get a baby bug.  You start to see babies everywhere you go.  You start mentioning kids to your husband and you find yourself gawking over tiny clothes in every store.  Baby Gap and babynames.com pop up in your most frequented searches on your computer.

Something different is happening to this girl.  I am sure the baby bug will bite me soon enough, but for now I’ve been bitten by a tinier, furrier bug.

I notice dogs all over the place.  I see them running in the park, adorably sticking their heads our of car windows and I even stop by the chew toys and puppy clothes every now and then in stores just to take a peek.  I’ve been brainstorming names, mentioning them to Mitch and even calculating how much a dog would cost as a line item in our budget.  Now, I grew up with a pug.  My whole family adored this pug.  We let him sleep with us, he got the occasional “accidental” drop from the kitchen table and came on every family vacation.  The idea of this furry companion has stuck with me and I just can’t shake it.  A beagle, a lab, a husky, a shitzu–they all sound nice!  You might be asking yourself…when will this domesticated animal dream come true?  Sadly, where we live right now allows no pets.  So until we move we will be dogless.  Until then, I will just live vicariously through my friends with puppies!

Photo credit, credit

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    August 3, 2010 2:52 am

    I know where you can get a cute little puppy…..who already loves you!!!!

Leave a Reply

