Skip to content

Homemade Bread

June 18, 2010

With a few hours free on my day off earlier this week, I decided to try something new!  I grew up smelling the sweet aroma of homemade bread coming from my mom’s bread machine that she would leave on to bake overnight, but bread-machineless myself, I have never dared make any myself.  Yeast and rising and deflating dough just seemed way too tricky to me!  But…recently I found this recipe on ‘Fly Through Our Window’ (a blog I love and visit often!), where Darby (this wonderful blog’s author) has a great recipe for homemade Whole Wheat Honey Oatmeal Bread!  Needless to say, I got inspired and decided to give it a go.  You can find the recipe here…it really is as good as it looks!

One thing I knew but didn’t really fully realize about bread is the time and patience it takes to make it!  But, as your house fills with it’s lovely smell and you accomplish 20 other things in between the steps to make it, you realize how productive and rewarding patience can be!

I started out with these…

Did a little mixing…

A little adding…

A little kneading…

A little waiting…

A little baking…

Then…tada!

Our kitchen smelled wonderful and it tasted so good!  I wish there was a scratch and sniff option on computer screens!  I hope you check out Darby’s blog for the recipe…so worth it!  All in all, I’m glad I took the bread making plunge.

Mitch requested this bread once a week…we’ll have to see about that :).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2010 10:01 am

    I love those breads. It looks so amazing. Wonderful work! Thanks for sharing.

  2. June 18, 2010 9:17 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try my hand at some homemade bread too. Yours looks wonderful! Maybe I will have to try this too. My husband will thank you!

Leave a Reply

