Skip to content

10 months and $80

June 9, 2010

So I’ve been thinking about it…and…I can’t help it.  I am one of those people…one of those people who remembers and loves celebrating month-anniversaries.  I know this won’t last forever and we probably won’t say happy 112th month anniversary one day, but we’re still under a year so I think I can get away with it!  Being the slightly cheesy and sentimental person that I am, I can’t help but think about the fact that Mitch and I got married ten months ago tomorrow! I almost can’t remember what it feels like not to be married to him…isn’t it funny how that happens?  I love it.

Have you ever heard of EduNations?  It is an organization that is motivated by compassion for “the least of these,” and gives forgotten children tangible reasons to hope in Africa. After learning of my friend’s trip to Sierra Leone for the summer along with a few other influential people in my life who are going for a shorter period of time, I checked out their website and was really moved by what EduNations is doing.  One thing that I haven’t been able to get out of my mind since reading their giving page is how much it costs to fund one child’s education for an entire year.  $80.  $80 can afford a child what they need to learn for a whole year!  It really made me think about what $80 means to me–maybe a couple of nights out to dinner?  A new pair of jeans?  A trip to an amusement park or a few new movies?  Surely something not as substantial as a whole year of learning!  Isn’t it neat what perspective reading something like that can bring?  Please consider praying for the team serving there now–God is doing awesome things!  Check out the EduNations website at www.edunations.org.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

