Skip to content

Penguins

May 27, 2010

When I was little, I never had a fascination with a particular animal.  You know how some little girls will decide they love monkeys and then beg for every monkey-clad item they pass by in every store?  My little sister (who I happened to share a room with for most of my childhood) absolutely loved pigs.  She had pig stuffed animals, pig clothes, pig furniture (yes, this is possible!), pig toys, and many, many piggy banks.  Our small, shared room was slowly engulfed by pink over the years just as a side effect of this obsession.  I never could quite relate, but thought it was endearing that she loved something otherwise unloveable.

That said, I recently have developed a fascination with penguins.  Ok, that might be putting it lightly.

I love penguins.

My reasoning: A male penguin chooses a mate and she becomes his mate for life. During the cold, harsh, winter while female penguins go in search of food for their family, the male penguins look after their little egg and simply wait for their chosen partner to come back.  Then, after months of waiting, he hears her call and knows his girl from every other.  Almost in an unspoken vow they promise that as long as they live they will stay together.

My husband Mitch and I learned in a class in college how traditional wedding vows are rooted in scripture, so we decided to use them at our wedding.  We got married just about 9 1/2 months ago and, being the emotional basket case I am, I cried throughout most of our ceremony.  But there is one thing so beautiful that I will never forget.  We promised to be together, with the Lord’s help, forever.  Unlike our penguin friends, this time, in a vow spoken out loud: “…to have and to hold from this day forward as long as we both shall live.”  Til death do us part.

While I would never really want anything with a penguin on it, I think I will always be amazed at how these strange little animals are getting it right.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 11:53 pm

    told you i would be your first stalker! I love it!

  2. June 6, 2010 7:17 pm

    I think this is a fantastic post. 🙂

  3. June 18, 2010 9:20 pm

    I love penguins too! Once you learn about them you realize they’re really amazing animals. I love that they mate for life too. 🙂

  4. Mom permalink
    July 7, 2010 8:36 pm

    I LOVE your blog!!!! Great stories about your life!!! Keep it comin’!! XOXO

Leave a Reply

